Marcin Szelest / fot. Tomika
Marcin Szelest / fot. Tomika
Organ concerts
Marcin Szelest's Organ Recital – cancelled
7:30 PM
NFM, Main Hall

Dies resurrectionis

O. Messiaen Les mains de l’abîme from Livre d’orgue
J. Langlais Incantation pour un jour saint op. 64
Anonim Introitus: Resurrexi (organ tablature from St Elizabeth Church in Wrocław, Bohn MS 102) – 2 verses
J.L. Krebs Christ lag in Todesbanden from Clavier Übung – 3 verses
A. Banchieri La battaglia from L’Organo suonarino op. 25
S. Preston Alleluyas
A. Hakenberger Congratulamini mihi (from Braniew-Oliwa tablature, ca. 1610–1630)
J.S. Bach Christ lag in Todes Banden BWV 718
H. Praetorius Hymnus in festa resurrectionem: Vita sanctorum – 2 verses
Ch. Tournemire Improvisation sur le “Te Deum” from  Cinq improvisations pour orgue reconstituées par Maurice Duruflé
O. Messiaen Chants d’oiseaux from Livre d’orgue


Marcin Szelest – organ

NFM, Main Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

Dear Music Lovers,

Mr Marcin Szelest has kindly agreed to move his organ recital from 19 April 2023 to a date in the 2023/2024 season. On 19 April, Martha Argerich and Theodosia Ntokou will perform. Your tickets for Marcin Szelest's organ recital can be returned to the NFM Box Office in person or online, or exchanged for other events in the NFM repertoire. We apologise for any inconveniences and thank you for your understanding.
NFM Team


The repertoire of Marcin Szelest’s organ recital will feature works by leading authors of organ literature, including Johann Sebastian Bach and Charles Tournemire. The concert will be opened and crowned with works by Olivier Messiaen, and between them there will be a number of compositions by German and Italian artists. 

Messiaen created his Livre d’orgue in the early 1950s. Due to its extraordinary artistic value and importance in his work, it is compared to the last work of Johann Sebastian Bach – Die Kunst der Fuge. The individual movements of the Livre d’orgue were created at different times and circumstances, which is manifested in their formal structure. Some of them were written during the composer’s stay in Paris or in the Alps. The concert will feature Les mains de l'abîme and the Chants d'oiseaux, which are the third and fourth movements. Of the French organ literature, the programme also includes compositions by Charles Tournemire and his student Jean Langlais. 

“Christ lay in the chains of death” – these are the opening words of Johann Sebastian Bach’s cantata composed for Easter Sunday. Its basis is a chorale written by Martin Luther in 1524 based on the Latin text Victimae paschali laudes from the 11th century. We will also hear the Christ lag in Todesbanden from the Clavier Übung by Johann Ludwig Krebs. Sacred themes will also appear in the Hymnus in festa resurrectionem: Vita sanctorum by the North German composer active at the turn of the late Renaissance and early Baroque, Hieronymus Praetorius. In addition, Marcin Szelest will perform theIntroitus: Resurrexi by an anonymous author, Congratulamini mihi by Andreas Hakenberger, La battaglia from the extensive seventeenth-century collection L’organo suonarino op. 25 by Adriano Banchieri, as well as the Alleluias by the legendary British organ virtuoso Simon Preston.



NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy. Learn more

Accept & close
Newsletter Melomana
We announce new concerts, we remind you about the start of ticket sales, we let you know about the last vacancies