Vijay Iyer, fot. Lena Adasheva
Jazz & World Music
Jazz fever
8:00 PM
NFM, Main Hall

UNESCO International Jazz Day
Part I
Melting Pot  Lab. 9 – Grand Finale

Piotr Damasiewicz – Composition for 26 improvisers (premiere)

Part II
Vijay Iyer Trio

Vijay Iyer  Emergence (premiere)

A concert celebrating the UNESCO International Jazz Day. As intended by UNESCO: ‘The aim of establishing the International Jazz Day it to raise the awareness of international communities about the art of jazz, its roots, styles and influences and to emphasize the impact of this musical genre as an important means of social communication’.


Part I: Melting Pot Lab. 9 – Grand Finale

Poland | Jazztopad
Piotr Damasiewicz – trumpet, curator
Michał Sember – guitar
Gerard Lebik –  saxophone, electronics
Zbigniew Kozera – double bass
Adam Webster – cello
Jakub Miarczyński – percussion
Władysław Kosendiak – saxophone
Ilona Witkowska –  poetry, commentary
Niezależna Manufaktura Taneczna – dance
Karol Przestrzelski – sculpture-instalation
Belgium | Handelbeurs Conzertzaal
Karen Willems – drums
Haleen van Haegenbogh – piano
Laurens van Bouwelen –  drums
Ruben Machtelinckx –  guitar

Germany | JazzWerkRuhr
Felix Fritsche –  saxophone
Julius Gabriel – saxophone, clarinet
Fabian Jung –  drums
Achim Zepezauer – electronics
Caspar van Meel –  double bass
André Meisner – saxophone
Florian Walter –  saxophone
Marie Daniels – voice

Estonia | Eesti Jazzliit
Laura Remmel – voice
Mart Soo – guitar, electronics

Ireland | Improvised Music Company
Shane Latimer –  guitar

Danmark | Swinging Europe (Nordic)
Mette Marie Ørnstrup –  voice

Part II

Nikola Kołodziejczyk - conductor
Vijay Iyer – piano
Stephan Crump – double bass
Tyshawn Sorey – drums
NFM Leopoldinum Chamber Orchestra


NFM, Main Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

The 9th Melting Pot is an extraordinary event – an occasion to sum up our experiments with dialogue between various artistic disciplines.
The main protagonist of the events within the Melting Pot is always improvisation. It will be so this time too – as the title of the final meeting is Composition for 26 Improvisers. It is a 25-minute work of music devoted to the techniques of contemporary music in the 20th and 21st centuries, performed by artist, which played in previous editions of the laboratory. This concert remains a riddle for all. One thing is sure: the score includes references to the previous seven editions of the Melting Pot, and the whole will be an attempt to strike a balance between adherence to the directions given in the score and the freedom of improvisation.

In the intermission a special sound-and-vision presentation will take place in Plac Wolności., featuring a sculpture by Karol Przestrzelski, played by four percussionists. The musicians will be accompanied by a group of dancers.



NFM Audio Player - obsługa komponentu Event

NFM Video Panel - obsługa komponentu Event

The project is subsidised by: :
8:30 PM
NFM, Red Hall
Ormimus Oriental Mystique Music
6:00 PM
NFM, Black Hall

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy. Learn more

Accept & close
Newsletter Melomana
We announce new concerts, we remind you about the start of ticket sales, we let you know about the last vacancies