NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy.

Accept & close
June 2018
7:00 PM
NFM, Chamber Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

Horn Trio


Horn Trio
Jakub Haufa – violin
Michał Francuz –piano
Tomasz Bińkowski – horn


L. van Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 9 in A major Op. 47  'Kreutzer' 
J. Brahms Trio in E flat major Op. 40 

Michał Francuz / fot. archiwum artysty

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 9 “Kreutzer,” was completed and premiered in 1803 while Beethoven was in Vienna. He had completed the finale three years prior, but the other movements were finished mere moments before the first performance, with the piano part practically blank. Thus at its premiere performance, the violinist was forced to sight-read, while the composer himself performed without written notes. Having been dedicated to the violinist who premiered the work, the piece was first known as the Bridgetower Sonata. However, Beethoven and Bridgetower quarrelled and so the composer to re-dedicated the work to Rudolphe Kreutzer. Ironically, Kreutzer never performed the work, after a broken arm ultimately drove him to give up violin playing.

Johannes Brahms, along with Mozart, was one of the relatively few composers to write for the horn in chamber music. Beethoven, of course, composed the Septet for horn and other winds with strings as well as the sonata for horn and piano that will also be featured. Brahms composed the Trio in E flat major in the spring of 1865, after the death of his mother and is thought to have intended it as a wordless requiem. In fact, the third movement bears the funereal marking Adagio Mesto and includes a quotation of the German funeral chorale Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst walten, which was also employed by Bach in his funerary cantata of the same title. However, the plaintive mood of the piece overall,  which evokes images of nature and thoughts of death, is seemingly of melancholy rather than lamentation.



Alixandra Porembski, English Language Annotator

  • VIP
50 PLN
  • Normal ticket
  • Reduced ticket
  • Normal ticket
30 PLN
20 PLN

Similar events

June 2020 | Thursday
Chamber concerts
NFM, Main Hall, reversed stage
The Clash of Eras
Closing of the Chamber Season

NFM – City of Wrocław institution of culture co-managed by:

Wdrożenie e-usług w Filharmonii im. Witolda Lutosławskiego we Wrocławiu - etap 2 współfinansowany jest przez Unię Europejską ze środków Europejskiego Funduszu Rozwoju Regionalnego w ramach Regionalnego Programu Operacyjnego dla województwa dolnośląskiego na lata 2007 - 2013 oś priorytetowa 6. Wykorzystanie i promocja potencjału turystycznego o kulturalnego Dolnego Śląska (Turystyka i Kultura), działanie 6.5. Działania wspierające infrastrukturę turystyczną i kulturową.