NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy.

Accept & close
October 2021
6:00 PM
Red Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

Canticum novum


Lionel Sow – conductor
Christian Danowicz – violin
Marcin Szelest – chest organ
NFM Choir


H. Distler Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied op. 12 no. 1
G. Bacewicz Adagio from Sonata No. 2 for solo violin
J. MacMillan Domine non secundum peccata nostra
H. Distler Fürwahr, er trug unsere Krankheit op. 12 no. 9
J. Harvey Come, Holy Ghost
G. Bacewicz Allegro from Sonata No. 1 for solo violin
P. Hersant Nostalgia (Durch Adams Fall)
J.S. Bach Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied – motet BWV 225

The project is part of the commemoration of the centenary of regaining independence and rebuilding Polish statehood

Lionel Sow / fot. Jean-Baptiste Millot
Lionel Sow / fot. Jean-Baptiste Millot

We invite you to a concert of the NFM Choir, led for the first time by its artistic director. The French choirmaster Lionel Sow, already known to the Wrocław audience, will conduct pieces for voices and violin, in which he has achieved a master level both as an instrumentalist and a conductor.

Hugo Distler was the author of sacred choral music and a master of Neo-Baroque music. His work uses old forms and genres including settings of high-flying poetry. He used a polyphonic technique, frequent melismata and a pentatonic scale. His works remain in traditional tonalities, and at the same time reveal an innovative sense of harmonics, as exemplified by the two vocal motets from the collection Geistliche Chormusik op. 12. Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied and Führwahr, er trug unsere Krankheit, based on a choral melody, are masterpieces with an extraordinarily raw, rare and sublime harmony, moving from the beginning to the luminous end of the chant. They were written by Distler in 1942, on the eve of his suicide, to which he was pushed by the ostracism to which his religious works were subjected in Nazi Germany.

Grażyna Bacewicz belongs to the group of Polish artists from the inter-war and post-war periods working in the Neoclassical style. It referred to forms and genres developed in the period of Classicism. Trained and performing as a violinist, she devoted special attention to violin music – hence one of her first pieces is Sonata No. 1 for solo violin, created in 1941 and one of the first Polish violin sonatas of the twentieth century. It offers a feast of musicality, wit and condensation of emotions. The Adagio from Sonata No. 2 for solo violin was particularly close to the composer – she requested that this movement be played at her funeral. It shows Bacewicz following a very individual path between the contradictory dogmas of socialist realism and post-war modernism when the composer's personal musical language was forming.

Come, Holy Ghost by Jonathan Dean Harvey and Domine non secundum peccata nostra by James Loy MacMillan are two contemporary works of sacred music by British composers. Both are based on church texts: the first on the hymn to the Holy Ghost, the second on the melody of the tractus from the Ash Wednesday liturgy. However, in the third movement, entitled Nostalgia from a triptych by the French artist Philippe Hersant, the leading role is played by the violin performinga decorative variation against the background of a gloomy chorale in the choir parts. The last one will be the Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, a motet for two choirs, composed around 1727 by Johann Sebastian Bach for the students of the Thomasschule in Leipzig. There, in 1789, Mozart became delighted with Bach’s work and asked for a copy of the score. The last movement of the piece is a fugue based on the melody of the Protestant chorale Alles was Odem hat!

Miejsca VIP
  • Bilet VIP
65 PLN
Miejsca normalne
  • Bilet normalny
  • Bilet ulgowy
  • NFM dla Studenta
55 PLN
45 PLN
25 PLN

Similar events

November 2021 | Sunday
Choral concerts
Main Hall
From Dusk till Dawn
NFM Boys' Choir / Lutosławski Quartet
January 2022 | Saturday
Choral concerts
Main Hall
The Light of the Winter Night
Christmas Carols and Pastorals
February 2022 | Saturday
Choral concerts
Red Hall
The Wild Swans
Lionel Sow & NFM Choir
March 2022 | Sunday
Choral concerts
Red Hall
Dance of Death
Lionel Sow & NFM Choir

NFM – City of Wrocław institution of culture co-managed by:

Wdrożenie e-usług w Filharmonii im. Witolda Lutosławskiego we Wrocławiu - etap 2 współfinansowany jest przez Unię Europejską ze środków Europejskiego Funduszu Rozwoju Regionalnego w ramach Regionalnego Programu Operacyjnego dla województwa dolnośląskiego na lata 2007 - 2013 oś priorytetowa 6. Wykorzystanie i promocja potencjału turystycznego o kulturalnego Dolnego Śląska (Turystyka i Kultura), działanie 6.5. Działania wspierające infrastrukturę turystyczną i kulturową.