NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy.

Accept & close
October 2020
3:00 PM
Main Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

Organ Afternoon


Roman Perucki, Piotr Rojek, Marcin Szelest – organ


J.C. Kerll Passacaglia  
D. Buxtehude Te Deum laudamus BuxWV 218 
(performed by M. Szelest)

J. Alain Litanies 
F. Borowski Organ Sonata No. 1  
(performed by P. Rojek)

J.S. Bach Prelude in E flat major BWV 552/1
Z. Kruczek Prelude and Fugue on a BACH Theme: March
(performed by R. Perucki)


Duration: 60'


The last in a series of recitals inaugurating the organ in the Main Hall of the National Forum of Music will be a meeting with Roman Perucki, Piotr Rojek and Marcin Szelest. We will hear works by six composers representing various eras and musical styles.

Marcin Szelest will perform two Baroque pieces: the Passacaglia by Johann Caspar Kerll and the Te Deum laudamus by Dietrich Buxtehude. The Passacaglia is a setting of a solemn, slow dance in triple metre, was very popular in the Baroque era. The fantasy based on the theme of the hymn of Te Deum, is one of Buxtehude's longest compositions for organ. It consists of five movements.

Next, Piotr Rojek will present the Litanies of Jehan Alain, a promising French composer who was killed in combat during the Second World War. We will also hear the Organ Sonata No. 1 by Felix Borowski, an Anglo-American composer of Polish origin. He lived in Chicago, where he was director of Chicago Musical College for almost thirty years, but in 1925 he quit the job to devote himself fully to composing.
Roman Perucki will begin his performance with the joyful and majestic Prelude in E flat major by Johann Sebastian Bach. The name of this composer became the basis for a musical cryptogram that used the sounds b, a, c and h (b) in a sequence. Robert Schumann, Ferenc Liszt, Anton Webern or Arvo Pärt wrote works based in this sequence of sounds. It also inspired the composer, organist and teacher Zbigniew Kruczek, born in Lubaczów in 1952, a work by whom also features in Perucki’s performance programmed for this afternoon.  

  • Bilet VIP
55 PLN
I kategoria
  • I kat - Bilet normalny
  • I kat - Bilet ulgowy
45 PLN
35 PLN
II kategoria
  • II kat - Bilet normalny
  • II kat - Bilet ulgowy
40 PLN
30 PLN
Sold Out

Similar events

May 2021 | Sunday
Special concerts
Main Hall
Pictures at an Exhibition | cancelled
Organ at the NFM
May 2021 | Sunday
Special concerts
Main Hall
Forbidden Symphony | cancelled
F. Chopin, D. Shostakovich
June 2021 | Sunday
Special concerts
Main Hall
Entourage Parisien
Organ at the NFM

NFM – City of Wrocław institution of culture co-managed by:

Wdrożenie e-usług w Filharmonii im. Witolda Lutosławskiego we Wrocławiu - etap 2 współfinansowany jest przez Unię Europejską ze środków Europejskiego Funduszu Rozwoju Regionalnego w ramach Regionalnego Programu Operacyjnego dla województwa dolnośląskiego na lata 2007 - 2013 oś priorytetowa 6. Wykorzystanie i promocja potencjału turystycznego o kulturalnego Dolnego Śląska (Turystyka i Kultura), działanie 6.5. Działania wspierające infrastrukturę turystyczną i kulturową.