NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy.

Accept & close
September 2021
7:00 PM
Main Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław

The Birth of Modern Music


Lawrence Foster – conductor
Joanna Freszel– soprano
Jan Krzeszowiec – flute
Maksymilian Lipień – oboe
Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra






Claude Debussy Prélude à lʼaprès-midi dʼun faune
Alban Berg Sieben frühe Lieder
Arnold Schönberg Fünf Orchesterstücke op. 16 (version 1949)
György Ligeti Double Concerto for flute, oboe and orchestra

Time: 75'

The project is part of the commemoration of the centenary of regaining independence and rebuilding Polish statehood


Dyrygent Laurence Foster
Lawrence Foster / fot. Konrad Ćwik

During the concert of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice, conducted by Lawrence Foster, we will hear the fascinating works of four composers who, on the one hand, set the horizons of musical modernity, and on the other, undertook a creative dialogue with the past.

The first piece in the programme is a sensual and oneiric L’apres midi d’un faune by Claude Debussy based on a poem by Stéphane Mallarmé. Although initially the music was highly controversial due to its unconventional harmony, it quickly took a permanent place in the repertoire. It also delighted the author of the literary prototype, who wrote: ‘Your illustration for L’apres-midi d’un faune not only does not create a dissonance with my text, but also goes further in nostalgia and light, subtly, with overwhelming feeling and splendour.’ The famous composer and conductor Pierre Boulez said that the creation of this work was the beginning of musical modernity.

Alban Berg, in turn, belonged to the artists of the avant-garde-oriented Second Viennese School, which set itself the goal of giving up the principles of traditional harmony. However, unlike Arnold Schoenberg and Anton Webern, this composer referred to functional tonality, which makes his works more accessible, emotional and lyrical than the works of the other two. Berg wrote the Sieben frühe Lieder in the years 1905–1908. It was originally intended for voice and piano, and the orchestral version was written much later – in 1928.

The Fünf Orchesterstücke (Five Pieces for Orchestra) was composed by Schoenberg in 1909, in a period of particular and difficult for himself, when he was going through a personal and creative crisis. It also translated into an anxious, dark expression of the new works. At the request of the publisher, the author provided these compositions with the titles: Premonitions, The Past, Colours, Peripeteia and The Obbligato Recitative. They reflect the times in which the works were written, the times of fascination with Freudian psychoanalysis and its key notion of unconsciousness. The static sound of the third movement is delightful, which Schoenberg associated with the flickering sun on a lake’s surface. The artist used the revolutionary Klangfarbenmelodie technique (literally, it means ‘a melody of sound colours’), consisting in a smooth transfer of notes in chords between different instruments.

Finally, we will listen to György Ligeti's Double Concerto for Flute, Oboe and Orchestra. It was created in 1972, so it is the latest composition to be included in the programme of the evening. Although the Hungarian composer was perceived as a radical innovator, in his writings and utterances he emphasized his fascination with early music, especially the extremely complicated Dutch polyphony of the Renaissance period. The double concerto is a great example of this – the music is extreme, evoking the atmosphere of horror and eerieness due to long-held dissonant chords, but at the same time beautiful and moving.


  • VIP Ticket
110 PLN
I kategoria
  • Normal Ticket -Zone I
  • Reduced Ticket - Zone I
  • UrbanCard Normal Ticket - Zone I
  • UrbanCard Reduced Ticket - Zone I
85 PLN
70 PLN
68 PLN
56 PLN
II kategoria
  • Normal Ticket - Zone II
  • Reduced Ticket - Zone II
70 PLN
55 PLN

NFM – City of Wrocław institution of culture co-managed by:

Wdrożenie e-usług w Filharmonii im. Witolda Lutosławskiego we Wrocławiu - etap 2 współfinansowany jest przez Unię Europejską ze środków Europejskiego Funduszu Rozwoju Regionalnego w ramach Regionalnego Programu Operacyjnego dla województwa dolnośląskiego na lata 2007 - 2013 oś priorytetowa 6. Wykorzystanie i promocja potencjału turystycznego o kulturalnego Dolnego Śląska (Turystyka i Kultura), działanie 6.5. Działania wspierające infrastrukturę turystyczną i kulturową.