Atom String Quartet / fot. Stefan Curta
Atom String Quartet / fot. Stefan Curta
Leo Festival
Listen, That Far is Our Horizon!
6:00 PM
NFM, Red Hall

G. Bacewicz Sinfonietta for strings
Z. Krauze Rhapsod for string orchestra
H. Kulenty-Majoor Concerto Rosso for string quartet and string orchestra
J. Koffler Ukrainian Sketches op. 27
K. Szymanowski String Quartet No. 2 op. 56 (arr. R. Tognetti)


Ernst Kovacic – conductor
Atom String Quartet:
Dawid Lubowicz – 1st violin
Mateusz Smoczyński – 2nd violin
Michał Zaborski – viola
Krzysztof Lenczowski – cello
NFM Orkiestra Leopoldinum

NFM, Red Hall
plac Wolności 1, 50-071 Wrocław
from 35 to 55 zł

The concert of the NFM Leopoldinum Orchestra and the Atom String Quartet, conducted by Ernst Kovacic, will be an excellent opportunity to listen to the works of Polish composers. In addition to historically established works by Karol Szymanowski, Józef Koffler and Grażyna Bacewicz, we will also hear contemporary music by Zygmunt Krauze and Hanna Kulenty-Majoor.

The work of Grażyna Bacewicz – an outstanding composer and violinist active in the 20th century – focused on string instruments. It includes the Sinfonietta, a work clearly referring to the classical patterns that the artist drew from every day. The piece will precede Zygmunt Krauze’s Rhapsod, created in 1995. Hanna Kulenty-Majoor’s Concerto Rosso is a concerto grosso, a piece written for string quartet and string orchestra. As the composer emphasizes, she is particularly intrigued by the word “rosso”, as it fits perfectly into her style of writing musique surréalistique. Its task is to “transform” not only the nature or musical conventions, but most of all the emotions associated with music.

In the second part of the concert, we will hear works by Józef Koffler and Karol Szymanowski. Koffler went down in history as the first Polish composer to use one of the most revolutionary compositional techniques used in contemporary music, which is dodecaphony. The artist carried out his first attempts at dodecaphony in his collection of 15 Variations of the Order of 12 Tones, Op. 9. Originally intended for piano, they will be performed this evening in the version for strings. The concert will be crowned with the sounds of String Quartet No. 2 op. 56 by Karol Szymanowski. Created in the fall of 1927, the work was written with the idea of a chamber composition competition organized by the Musical Fund Society in Philadelphia. Finally rejected, today it is considered one of the most avant-garde compositions in Szymanowski’s prolific oeuvre.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Like most websites, we use cookies to facilitate online booking and to ensure we give you the best possible experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to receive cookies. You can learn more about changing your settings in our Privacy Policy. Learn more

Accept & close
Newsletter Melomana
We announce new concerts, we remind you about the start of ticket sales, we let you know about the last vacancies